About us

We are students, researchers, teachers – and former participants of the Physics Olympiad. We share a passion for physics and strive to transfer that enthusiasm to the next generation of researchers. The Physics Olympiad would not exist without the countless hours of work by passionate volunteers.


Our association creates platforms where new friendships and ideas develop. We collaborate closely with our colleagues from other branches of the Science Olympiad. In this exchange we learn from each other’s experiences and look for solutions to common organizational challenges.


Become a volunteer

Do you share our enthusiasm for physics? Are you a former participant and want to chip in? Then become a member of our association. We are always looking for people to support our efforts. Proofreading, correcting exams, accompanying teams to international Olympiads: These are just a few examples of all the work we do. We are looking forward to hearing from you!

IPhO 2016

In 2016 the International Physics Olympiad (IPhO) took place in Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Our association organized the large-scale event together with the University of Zurich and the education office of the principality of Liechtenstein. More information can be found here.

People behind the Physics Olympiad

Richard Heimgartner
Verantwortlicher Finalrunde;
MSc ETH, Gymnasiallehrer für Physik
Quentin Wenger
Responsable theory, translation;
Physics, ETH Zürich
Adrian Rutschmann
Verantwortlicher Schlussfeier
Henning Zhang
Responsible 2nd round Zurich
Thanh Phong Lê
Alfredo Mastrocola
Ehemaliger Präsident
Markus Meier
Dr. sc. nat. ETH Zürich, Dipl. Phys. ETH Zürich
Barbara Roos
Verantwortliche Website;
MSc ETH Mathematics
Sebastian Stengele
Verantwortlicher 1. Runde;
Physik, ETH Zürich
Thomas Uehlinger
Support; Koordinator OlyExams; Head of Academic Committee IPhO 2016; Dr. sc. Physics, ETH Zürich
Rafael Winkler
Verantwortlicher Lager;
Physik, ETH Zürich