Agenda

Preparation camp

in Vordemwald

2

Training EPFL

in Lausanne

2

There are no agenda entries avaiable

...
show more

Itinerary

1st round

Everything starts in Mid-August. The first round is open until the end of September. The test takes 40 minutes and can be done online or on paper. Students can participate individually or take the test in class. No preparation is necessary of the first round. Basic knowledge of physics and interest in physics are the only prerequisites to participate.  Registration

 

Camp

Students who qualified for the second round will be invited to a training camp. Participation is completely free. The 60 spots are distributed on a first come first served basis. In addition to the lectures and exercise sessions, there will be a field trip, game nights and a career night with insights from the careers of past participants. Video.

 

2nd round

Mid-January the participants meet in Berne, Lausanne, Zurich and in Ticino. The second round consists of two theoretical examinations. Afterwards students get a guided tour of the research facilities in the local university. Around 28 students make it to the final round.

 

Training EPFL

The finalists meet in Mid-February at ETH Lausanne (EPFL) for three days of experimental training. The highlight of the camp is the legendary fondue on Saturday evening.

Final

On one weekend in March the Neue Kantonsschule Aarau is taken over by the physics Olympiad. The final round spans two days and consists of three exams. Both experimental and theoretical problems are tested. The most successful participants win gold, silver and bronze medals and secure their spot on the teams representing Switzerland internationally.

 

Experimental training

Both teams representing Switzerland at international competitions will start preparing in April. They will meet with instructors and practice with experiments from past competitions.

 

EuPhO

The European Physics Olympiad (EuPhO) is a great learning experience for our younger participants. Spots on the team are given to the five best medalists who are eligible to participate in the following year. EuPhO exams are challenging. The problems are open-ended questions and demand creative solutions.

 

Theoretical training

Before heading off to the International Physics Olympiad (IPhO), the IPhO team meets in a chalet in Wallis. Time for the final training with the team leaders – and a delicious raclette.

 

IPhO

In July the team travels to the International Physics Olympiad (IPhO). They compete with peers from over 80 countries. Their reward? Possibly another medal. They will also be able to discover a new country and meet lots of people from around the world.

 

Science Olympiad Day

Finalists from all nine branches of the science Olympiad meet to celebrate the achievements of the past year. More information

Agenda

Pas d'entrées dans l'agenda

DÉROULEMENT

1er  TOUR

La fièvre de la physique se déclare à la mi-août. Les jeunes ont jusqu’à la fin septembre pour participer au premier tour. Le test dure 40 minutes et peut être passé en ligne ou sur papier, en classe ou individuellement. Les seuls prérequis sont des connaissances de base et un intérêt pour la physique. Les questions peuvent être résolues sans entraînement spécifique. S’inscrire.

Camp

Les élèves qualifié-e-s pour le deuxième tour sont invité-e-s au camp de préparation de novembre. Il dure une semaine et est entièrement gratuit. Les 60 places disponibles sont attribuées dans l’ordre des inscriptions. Nous organisons diverses activités en alternance des sessions de cours et d’exercice : une excursion, des soirées de jeu et des rencontres avec d’ancien-ne-s participant-e-s permettant de discuter du choix et du quotidien de leur métier. Voir la vidéo.

 

2e TOUR

Les jeunes se rencontrent à la mi-janvier à Berne, Lausanne, Zurich et au Tessin. Il démontrent leur savoir-faire lors de deux examens théoriques. Pour clore la journée, ils reçoivent un aperçu des recherches de l’université locale. Les 28 meilleur-e-s élèves environ sont qualifié-e-s pour le tour final.

 

ENTRAÎNEMENT À L’EPFL

Les finalistes se rencontrent à la mi-février dans les laboratoires de l’Ecole Polytechnique de Lausanne (EPFL). Au programme, un entraînement expérimental de trois jours. Sans oublier la légendaire fondue du samedi soir.

Finale

A la mi-mai, la Neue Kantonsschule d’Aarau est prise d’assaut par les Olympiades de Physique. Le tour final dure deux jours et se compose de trois examens, avec des parties tant théoriques qu’expérimentales. Comme cerise sur le gâteau, la cérémonie de clôture : les gagnants sont récompensés par des médailles d’or, d’argent et de bronze et décrochent leur ticket pour l’une des olympiades de physique internationales.

 

ENTRAÎNEMENT EXPÉRIMENTAL

La préparation des deux équipes chargées de représenter la Suisse à une compétition internationale débute en avril. Les équipes se rassemblent le temps d’un week-end et passent en revue les expériences des années précédentes, sous la supervision d’enseignants et d’étudiants bénévoles.

 

EuPhO

Les Olympiades Européennes de Physique (EuPhO) sont une forme de tremplin pour les plus jeunes participant-e-s. S’y qualifient les meilleur-e-s lauréat-e-s de médailles qui ont encore la possibilité de participer aux Olympiades l’année suivante. Les examens des EuPhO mettent notamment l’accent sur la créativité des réponses aux questions ouvertes.

 

ENTRAÎNEMENT THÉORIQUE

En juin, peu avant le décollage pour les Olympiades Internationales de Physique, l’équipe se retire avec ses accompagnants dans un chalet en Valais. C’est l’occasion d’un tout dernier entraînement – et d’une raclette le soir.

 

IPhO

L’équipe part en juillet pour les Olympiades Internationales de Physique (IPhO). Les talents suisses s’y mesurent à d’autres jeunes de plus de 80 pays. La récompense ? Peut-être une médaille supplémentaire. Mais surtout, la découverte d’un nouveau pays et une foule de nouveaux contacts du monde entier.

 

JOURNÉE DES OLYMPIADES

La cérémonie de clôture de toutes les neuf olympiades scientifiques, en septembre à Berne, ouverte à toutes et tous les finalistes. En savoir plus.