Agenda

Preparation camp

in Vordemwald

2

Training EPFL

in Lausanne

2

There are no agenda entries avaiable

...
show more

Itinerary

1st round

Everything starts in Mid-August. The first round is open until the end of September. The test takes 40 minutes and can be done online or on paper. Students can participate individually or take the test in class. No preparation is necessary of the first round. Basic knowledge of physics and interest in physics are the only prerequisites to participate.  Registration

 

Camp

Students who qualified for the second round will be invited to a training camp. Participation is completely free. The 60 spots are distributed on a first come first served basis. In addition to the lectures and exercise sessions, there will be a field trip, game nights and a career night with insights from the careers of past participants. Video.

 

2nd round

Mid-January the participants meet in Berne, Lausanne, Zurich and in Ticino. The second round consists of two theoretical examinations. Afterwards students get a guided tour of the research facilities in the local university. Around 28 students make it to the final round.

 

Training EPFL

The finalists meet in Mid-February at ETH Lausanne (EPFL) for three days of experimental training. The highlight of the camp is the legendary fondue on Saturday evening.

Final

On one weekend in March the Neue Kantonsschule Aarau is taken over by the physics Olympiad. The final round spans two days and consists of three exams. Both experimental and theoretical problems are tested. The most successful participants win gold, silver and bronze medals and secure their spot on the teams representing Switzerland internationally.

 

Experimental training

Both teams representing Switzerland at international competitions will start preparing in April. They will meet with instructors and practice with experiments from past competitions.

 

EuPhO

The European Physics Olympiad (EuPhO) is a great learning experience for our younger participants. Spots on the team are given to the five best medalists who are eligible to participate in the following year. EuPhO exams are challenging. The problems are open-ended questions and demand creative solutions.

 

Theoretical training

Before heading off to the International Physics Olympiad (IPhO), the IPhO team meets in a chalet in Wallis. Time for the final training with the team leaders – and a delicious raclette.

 

IPhO

In July the team travels to the International Physics Olympiad (IPhO). They compete with peers from over 80 countries. Their reward? Possibly another medal. They will also be able to discover a new country and meet lots of people from around the world.

 

Science Olympiad Day

Finalists from all nine branches of the science Olympiad meet to celebrate the achievements of the past year. More information

Agenda

Es sind keine Einträge vorhanden

Ablauf

1. Runde

Mitte August bricht das Physikfieber aus. Bis Ende September können Jugendliche bei der ersten Runde mitmachen. Der 40-minütige Test kann online oder auf Papier gelöst werden, von ganzen Schulklassen oder Einzelpersonen. Vorausgesetzt werden Grundkenntnisse und Freude an Physik. Die Fragen sind ohne zusätzliches Training lösbar. Zur Anmeldung.

 

Lager

Wer sich für die zweite Runde qualifiziert, wird ins Vorbereitungslager im November eingeladen. Die Woche ist komplett gratis, die 60 Plätze werden nach dem Zeitpunkt der Anmeldung vergeben. Als Abwechslung zu den Vorlesungen und Übungen organisieren wir einen Ausflug, Spielabende und Begegnungen mit ehemaligen Teilnehmenden, die von ihrer Berufswahl und ihrem Arbeitsalltag erzählen. Zum Video.

 

2. Runde

Mitte Januar treffen sich die Jugendlichen in Bern, Lausanne, Zürich und im Tessin. Sie beweisen ihr Können bei zwei theoretischen Prüfungen. Zum Abschluss gibt es einen Einblick in die Forschung der lokalen Universität. Ungefähr die 28 besten Schülerinnen und Schüler qualifizieren sich für die Finalrunde.

 

Training EPFL

Die Finalistinnen und Finalisten treffen sich Mitte Februar in den Labors der ETH Lausanne (EPFL). Auf dem Programm steht ein dreitägiges, experimentelles Training. Nicht zu vergessen: Das legendäre Fondue am Samstagabend.

 

Final

Mitte März wird die Neue Kantonsschule Aarau komplett von der Physik-Olympiade in Anspruch genommen. Die Finalrunde dauert zwei Tage und besteht aus drei Prüfungen mit theoretischen und experimentellen Problemen. Das Tüpfchen auf dem i ist die Schlussfeier: Die erfolgreichsten Teilnehmenden werden mit Gold, Silber und Bronze geehrt und holen sich das Ticket für eine der internationalen Physik-Olympiaden.

 

Experimental-Training

Für die zwei Teams, die die Schweiz an einem internationalen Wettbewerb vertreten, beginnt im April die Vorbereitung. An einem Wochenende stecken sie die Köpfe zusammen und gehen die Experimente der vergangenen Jahre durch. Dabei werden sie von freiwilligen Lehrpersonen und Studierenden unterstützt.

 

EuPhO

Die Europäische Physik-Olympiade (EuPhO) ist quasi das Sprungbrett für die jüngeren Teilnehmenden. Qualifiziert sind die fünf besten Medaillengewinner, die im folgenden Jahr noch einmal mitmachen dürfen. Die Prüfungen an der EuPhO haben es in sich: Wer eine kreative Lösung findet für die offenen Problemstellungen, gewinnt auch hier eine Medaille.

 

Theorie-Training

Im Juni, kurz vor dem Abflug an die Internationale Physik-Olympiade, zieht sich das Team mit den Begleitpersonen in ein Chalet ins Wallis zurück. Zeit für das allerletzte Training – und ein würziges Raclette abends.

 

IPhO

Im Juli reist das Team an die Internationale Physik-Olympiade (IPhO). Dort messen sich die Schweizer Talente mit Jugendlichen aus über 80 Ländern. Die Belohnung? Eine weitere Medaille, vielleicht. Bestimmt aber die Entdeckung eines neuen Landes und viele neue Kontakte aus der ganzen Welt.

 

Science Olympiad Day

Die Abschlussfeier aller neun Olympiaden im September in Bern. Für alle Finalistinnen und Finalisten. Erfahre mehr.